Odd Comfort

Today, looking back through my paper calendar, on the 15th week of this week, I find scrawled a partial reference to 2 Thessalonians 2:8. All I had written was

“the Lord Jesus will kill him w/the breath of his mouth.”

I still don’t know why I wrote that down. Maybe it was Good Friday related. Surety in the victory, the final victory of Christ is comforting. We don’t think of our suffering savior as a slaying warrior, smiting down the lawless one of whom Paul writes. But that is him, the one crucified for me will return. That is my comfort right now, not in the death of the enemy, but in the final victory of my Lord.

Now, if I only knew why I jotted that down…

Solo Deo Gloria,
jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Bible. Bookmark the permalink.