The Tabletop Trebuchet


Call me crazy, but I’ve always been fascinated by the Trebuchet. It’s primitive, yet powerful. And a table top version would be perfect for those slow days at work, or to break the monotony. Or even a bit of Peep Research into the effects of sudden deceleration on those lovely little yellow birds. Or, maybe even their reaction to cold mixed with deceleration.

Ohh, maybe one day.

Solo Deo Gloria,
Jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Life, the Universe and Everything and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Tabletop Trebuchet

  1. Todd says:

    Funny you should mention the trebuchet… I am working with a high school class in a nearby town next week to build a pretty good sized one to toss flour sacks. I’ll post pictures to my blog when I get the chance πŸ™‚

    Todd

  2. javajeb says:

    I’ll have to remember to look for that. What weight of flour sacks are you shooting for?

    I can remember watching something before on trebuchets and catapults. Folks would get together and launch some odd stuff. For instance, I remember a rather large trebuchet slinging a toilet.

    jason

  3. Todd says:

    We’ll probably just be launching 5 or 10 pound sacks. They make a nice white cloud when they land πŸ™‚

    There was, a while ago, a NOVA special on Medieval siege warfare in which they had two beams building authentic trebs that were intended to launch 250 pound stone projectiles at a mockup of a castle… was pretty fun (but beyond anything we’ll be doing. a 40 foot tall trebuchet is a tad big for our taste. πŸ˜‰

    Todd

  4. javajeb says:

    I think I saw that one. Seems like NOVA did a series on ancient technology. I remember them trying to lift an obelisk as well as replicating two Incan technologies – constructing a bridge of grass and recreating the signature Inca stonework that is seemless and so tight that even a sheet of paper couldn’t slip between the two stones.

    jason

Comments are closed.