Mileposts

In the course of the past two weeks, I’ve dealt with at least two of life’s greatest mileposts. Unfortunately, the first was death, the demise of our beloved Maximillian the mutt. Our beloved protector met his doom about here. Buried near the other dog we’ve lost this year, Charlie. So far, we’ve lost 50% of our dogs. Now, the two remaining of two pairs of brothers will be brothers to each other. Both have lost, both have mourned in their own particular way, which breaks the heart even deeper.

The second was this Saturday, the marriage of one of my wife’s cousins. Just 8 years, 4 months and 15 days previous, I was standing in that sanctuary, pledging my vow to the love of my life, mother of our children, keeper of our home. My hat is off to her, an amazing woman. Watching another couple in the same place wed, brought back a flood of memories. For instance, seeing the bride appear at the back of the sanctuary automatically took my breath away, for then I was transported back to that same moment at 2:00 PM, the last of May, three years before the end of the twentieth century. Seeing her, emerge up out of the stairwell, my breath was taken away, tears welling into my eyes, realizing the magnitude of the moment and her beauty. I pray that those two who were wed this Saturday past will have as much joy as have we.

Solo Deo Gloria,
jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Life, the Universe and Everything. Bookmark the permalink.