Humility

Recently, I’ve been planning a Sunday School course with our Pastor based on McGrath’s book “Theology: The Basics”. Yesterday, we started the book officially by looking at God. I will admit, there is nothing more humbling than trying to communicate the infinite to the finite through a severely finite one. “I believe in God the Father Almighty…” Simple words many of us know, but the depth of meaning is beyond my searching. I am constantly reminded of my doctrinal standards, though I am not worshipping at a PCA church. The Westminster Standards, for all their stiffness, nailed it with WSC question #4:

Q: What is God?

A: God is a Spirit, infinite, eternal, and unchangeable, in his being, wisdom, power, holiness, justice, goodness, and truth.

That is about as far from me as human language is able to express. And I am made aware of my finitude in other ways, everyday. I notice it in a significant way when I roast coffee. The characteristics change from day to day, minute to minute. It’s never the same bean once roasted, twice. Whereas I change, my God never changes. I see my changing daily, but I am afraid I don’t dwell enough on the constancy of my God. And hopefully, that is a part of what this study will help to cultivate in me: a deeper love and knowledge of my Creator, and a further glimpse into His majesty as He has revealed it to mankind.

Nothing places man in his proper place as the appropriate pondering of the Almighty. And discussing/teaching that, to use the words of Emeril, “kicks it up another notch”. Mentioning something as potentially divisive as is the WCF in our fellowship teaches you dependence on the Almight while teaching others about His person. It is never easy to get up and teach adults, youths even scarier. There is a certain comfort when preaching, for no one is able to rebuff you live; it’s all offline. But dialog is the scariest of all, for it is then that you must be able always to “to make a defense to anyone who asks you for a reason for the hope that is in you”. Discerning what to answer, how to answer, and when to humbly admit unknowing is all very difficult for me. And sometimes, my own sinfulness can predominiate my words and actions, and for that I am always sorrowful, no matter how justified it might have been. Short temperedness doesn’t honor God. That, I need to learn.

A tip ‘o the hat to uncreativelaura‘s post “tangentializing”

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Bible, Theology. Bookmark the permalink.