Tsunami Survivor

I heard this NPR story after seeing a link on a discussion board. The description has left me in a bit of a stupor – my mind cannot comprehend the sights described, the prospect of my body rolling, topsy-turvy at 30 miles per hour through floodwaters. Maybe it’s a glimpse, a glimpse only of the great flood. And the great serendipity is the only surviving article of this man’s life: a plastic Jesus doll, bought as a joke. The thing is, there is a great lesson there: I all too frequently find solace, comfort, security in stuff. Jesus, at least here, was stuff. But he also is, and will always be. Thanks be to God for that.

Solo Deo Gloria,
jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Life, the Universe and Everything. Bookmark the permalink.