And the Word Became Flesh…

Recently, I have been meditating on John 1:14 “And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we have seen his glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth.” I was asked to give a brief devotional meditation on the passage for Sunday, December 5th. Here are my thoughts.

My first thoughts on this verse were how profane this truly was: the eternal logos, becoming human, like me, like horribly distorted, broken, fallen me. Would it not have been better for the Son of God to be something that does what God desires, designed, like a dog, a tree, a flower? Many in the world could identify with that, and would find some degree of comfort there. But then I started thinking about the past year.

This December marks the first anniversary of the last times I saw my father alive. Once was when he came to hear me preach, and the last was for Christmas. He died January 20th, quite suddenly and unexpectedly. I have been dealing with estate matters for the biggest part of the year, and am only now coming to terms with the loss, with grieving. The suddenness of dad’s passing made me think of how fleeting and fragile humanity is. Though we sit atop the food chain, we are not indestructible. Sin wreaks a heavy toll on us, physically, emotionally, spiritually. This made me think, who better for the Son of God to be enfleshed as but man.

We don’t do what we ought. Our relationships are all messed up: our relationship with ourselves, with each other, and with God. What could have been more appropriate than for the Son of God to appear, over 2000 years ago, in the tiny village named “House of Bread”, Bethlehem. As a crying, helpless baby, God became man. As I grieve the loss of my father, it is particularly difficult this season. The memories of last year, of years and years past weigh heavily upon my heart. The smallest thing can send me to tears. But the fact that the Word, the eternal wisdom of God, became flesh, I have hope, I have comfort. And in that, I can rejoice!

Solo Deo Gloria

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Bible, Life, the Universe and Everything. Bookmark the permalink.